North of the Border

« back to albums
north of the border AlbumODR001

Side 1
North of the Border
The Shore ‘Neath the Tide
Rachel’s Wedding / Wee Fergus / The Sound of Mull
The Isle of Eigg
Jenny’s Return / Harry’s Reel

Side 2
Think Ahead
No Longer Needed
The Shower of Snow / Scrape It Off The Floor
Steer the Wealth Down Here

With Allan Johnston – vocals/acoustic guitar, Sheila MacWhirter – vocals, Peter McClements – fiddle, Mike Slessor – fiddle, Wattie Lees – uilleann pipes/low whistle , Roy Martin – bass, John O’Rourke – keyboards, Andy Munro – drum-kit, Nigel Richard – cittern, Derek Stark – electric guitar, Martin McHugh – bodhran and Cathal McConnell – flute.

“A terrier of a songwriter snapping at the boot-heels of injustice”.
Alastair Clark, The Scotsman

“Johnston can hit the lyrical when he wants and he does so rather finely in his rendition of his affectionate tribute to Ireland, The Shore ‘Neath The Tide”.
Raymond Ross, Scotland On Sunday

“Tracks are powered along by electric guitar, keyboards, bass, bodhran and drums under the uilleann pipes and fiddle with the muscle of Moving Hearts”.
Norman Chalmers, The List

To purchase, email Allan (CD is £10.00 plus postage). Vinyl and cassette also available.